EMAIL Webmaster

North Yorkshire Short Mat Bowling Association

Visitor No:

Hit Counter

4d - VALE OF YORK LEAGUE - 2013/14

Created 19/8/13

Click here to return to Vale of York League main page


At the league AGM on April 9th 2013, it was decided that for the current season the league results results would be accessed directly from the "Ryedale Bowls" website managed and maintained by the league compiler, George McDowell

 Consequently they  will no longer be shown separately on this site as in previous years.


Therefore, to view this seasons results for both League fixtures and Cup games take the following link

(Any enquiries regarding the accuracy of the data or availability of this site should be directed to George McDowell)


KO Cup Final - Thursday 10 April 2014 (Dalton) - In a repeat of last years final, Great Ouseburn once again met Easingwold I, this time in the Dalton Village Hall.    Both teams fielded the same line-up as last year apart from one change on each side. Although Easingwold were hoping for a reverse in last years fortunes it was not to be and last years winners once again proved to be in good form, winning on all 4 mats and decisively retaining the Cup for the 3rd year running by 79 shots to 26. (see PhotoGallery)  


15th PAIRS TOURNAMENT 2013 - Saturday 19th October 2013 : This year, only 6 of the leagues 10 clubs entered** (Hambleton & Easingwold with 2 teams each) and this reduced entry (normally 12 teams) to 8 resulted in a change to the normal format. In the first 6 sessions, all teams played 3 matches of 35 minutes each - in 2 groups of 4. The normal league scoring was used so each match was worth 12 points (2 per mat + 4 for the aggregate). The 2 Group winners and 2 runners-up then went on to contest a Semi-Final  followed by a Final. 

In the first Semi, Knaresborough (Beardsley's, Forester's, Harris's and Weatherill's) had a very tight match against Great Ouseburn (P Wiliamson & D Childs, S Holtby & M Lambert, R Green & B Benson & R Haynes & L Lambert) which resulted in a win for Knaresborough by just 1 shot (40-39).  The second Semi was far more decisive with Easingwold 2 (K Hughes & J Woodhouse, P Stokes & J Pennock, P Walker & J Hughes, J & B Almond) overcoming Boroughbridge (L Gill & D Mather, D Daddy & L Wilson, K Brailey & J Dixon + 2 others - sorry) by 34 shots (61-27). 

The resulting Final between Knaresborough and Easingwold 2 was always close but with the latter always just ahead. In the end both sides won 2 mats each but the overall score was 40-31 to Easingwold who get their name on the Cup for the first time since 2008, leaving Knaresborough as runners-up for the second year running.

George McDowell from Kirkbymoorside SMBC, (the leagues table compiler) organised the running of the day once again.

See PhotoGallery and previous winners                                                                **St Cuthberts, Raskelf, Branton and Tollerton did not take part.